Bahá’ís commemorate 11 holy days each year.  These occasions are usually observed within local neighbourhood, with programs befitting the significance of the day.

These holy days include:

  • Naw-Rúz the Bahá’í New Year
  • First Day of Riḍván (Riḍván means “Paradise” in Arabic) — the most important of the Bahá’í holy days. It is the day on which Bahá’u’lláh declared His mission as a Messenger of God.
  • Ninth Day of Riḍván, the day on which Bahá’u’lláh’s family joined Him in the Garden of Ridván.
  • Twelfth Day of Riḍván, the day on which Bahá’u’lláh and His family left the garden to travel to Constantinople.
  • Declaration of the Báb, the anniversary of the Báb’s announcement of His mission in 1844.
  • Ascension of Bahá’u’lláh marking the passing of Bahá’u’lláh in 1892
  • Martyrdom of the Báb who was executed in 1850
  • Birth of the Báb
  • Birth of Bahá’u’lláh
  • Day of the Covenant commemorating Bahá’u’lláh’s appointment of His son, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, as the One to whom His followers should turn after His passing.
  • Ascension of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá marking the passing of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá in 1921

To experience the commemoration of a Bahá’í Holy Day in Toowoomba, please contact us.